Massive Assault Official Forum

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:53 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Ideal Invasion Army
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:25 pm 
Conscript

So, I am quite new to the game (about a week now). However, I have observed a great variety of different invasion armies used. It is obvious that terrain and overall map situation plays a part. However, I am curious if people have a "common" army they use to invade with or a rule of thumb that they use.

Common situations:
Secret Army of 8 wants to invade neighboring $2 or $3 province. If fairly small with limited rough terrain, what is the best buy?

My thoughts (against $2 province): It seems like 4 tanks is the best invasion for against $2 province. Can buy transport later to support attack, but using transport just gets it killed (3 bunkers) and still 1 guerrilla bunker/smallfoot can be in far corner of province.

My thoughts (against $3 province): Here I am torn between 2 tanks and a walker (bring some ranged power along), 4 tanks (safe, but at least one will die), and mix of small feet (to take brunt of guerrillas) and tanks/mortars...4 small feet and 2 mortars is dreadfully slow and seems like can be taken advantage of too easily. With $6 worth of guerrillas, that gives more possibilities (like megabot if terrain allows to divide some of the tanks from supporting one another). Overall, my inclination would be to invade with 4 tanks, have $2 saved in my province, so would have $4 after guerrillas reveal so could buy transports/walker/missile launcher depending on the defenses.

Anyway, it gets more complicated of course - but just curious if people wanted to share some rules of thumb - it seems that there is no one "right" choice - which is a good indication that the game has lots of strategic depth and that is very cool. It seems to me that tanks are the best to trigger the guerrillas - when is this a bad idea?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 8:11 pm 
Sea Wolf